names of dwarves from the hobbit

The Hobbit


So…currently it’s 3:30 am. I’m tired. I’m groggy. I’m probably going to have odd dreams tonight. But it was well worth it. My husband and I went to see The Hobbit. I typically don’t do midnight premiers anymore. I’m not one for crowds and having a regular job can make it harder. But I did see all three Lord of the Rings at their midnight premiers. And this is a story that my husband loves, so it only seemed fitting to make it through tonight.

The movie was pretty good. I have to say two things I was impressed with was the subtle advances in visual effects. Smeagol/gollum seemed so much more substantial then previously. And the other being their ability to make the actors that were in the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit not look like they had aged ten years.

When I think about it now I realize how much the visual of a movie affects me more then most other things. I can be forgiving of a poor story line if I am visually invested. This movie was good. As my husband said some of the fight scenes were a bit much (unless you happened to be slipping in and out of sleep at the moment because you’ve been up since 5 something am) but over all it was enjoyable.  And the story line is a good one, so the visuals added to it not made up for it. However, they did reinforce the whole wanting to live in the Shire.

Daniel and I finished re-watching the Lord of the Rings tonight before going. Which, even though it wasn’t necessary since the Hobbit takes place before it, it was nice to have a refresher. Plus I took it as training for watching a three hour movie. 🙂 In addition it’s the first time my husband and I have watched them together. So tonight was a lovely bonding experience.

 

names of dwarves from the hobbit

Know your Dwarf

 

So all that being said the only thing I will tell you is to go see it. See it on the big screen and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

